“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples”. Mother Theresa

Tonight I spent 3 hours trying to write my nominee summary for an award I was nominated for. I never realized how hard it was for me to write positively about myself. It’s probably the reason I rather not apply for scholarships (although I have applied and received several). There’s something about writing about accomplishments that makes me uncomfortable. I feel like this isn’t an idea that is accepted fully in society. I always encourage people to be proud of what they have succeeded, set new goals and keep striving. a face book friend posted this quote about humility… something about how humility wasn’t about thinking less of yourself but thinking of yourself less. I really liked that thought and believe it is true.

I am not confident all the time but when I and others are confident, I feel it isn’t appreciated by some people because it is misinterpreted as arrogance or cockiness. The major difference I think, is that when you’re confident you aren’t looking for validation to confirm this but when you’re arrogant you look for it everywhere. It makes people uncomfortable when people are able to be  unapologetically themselves. I always encourage people to try to stand in their own truth and be okay with being you! Trying to be like someone else is such a waste of the awesomeness that is you… authentic you. I can understand why it bothers people on the surface. We all have bad days where/when we don’t feel our best, we don’t think we’re smart enough, pretty enough, brave enough to do what we want. Those days are okay… but on those days, surround yourself with people that remind you of the fabulous person that you are. 

tonight I am grateful I got that essay written and this blog written all before the clock strikes 12.

 

Leave a Reply

